Comparison
WheelClick vs every middle-click app
For a free three-finger middle click on the trackpad, WheelClick (macOS 12+), MiddleClick (10.13+) and MiddleDrag (15+) all do it. On a Magic Mouse: WheelClick’s direct build, MiddleClick, Middle, Multitouch or BetterTouchTool. On macOS older than 13: MiddleClick, Middle, MiddleTouch or Multitouch. For customizing everything, not only middle click: BetterTouchTool.
macOS understands a middle click everywhere, but Apple’s trackpads and the Magic Mouse have no way to make one, so a whole family of third-party apps fills the gap. The table below holds the same verified facts as the individual comparison pages, and each app also has its own page with the full story — pick a column and follow its link for the one-on-one comparison and an honest “which one fits you”.
Ranked, for one job
Sixteen attributes and nine apps do not reduce to a score. Any number would only be hiding which attribute someone decided mattered most, so here is the order argued instead — and the assumption it rests on, because changing it changes the order: you want a middle click, on a Mac running macOS 12 or later. Every entry says what it loses on, not only what it wins on.
-
1
WheelClick by this site's author
The most complete of the dedicated apps, and the only one with a free tier: three-finger click and tap cost nothing, permanently, and $4.99 adds everything else. Autoscroll, per-app rules and swipes exist here and mostly nowhere else.
Against it: macOS 12 and later only. On an older Mac it is not an option at all.
-
2
Middle
The strongest paid alternative and the one to buy if this list did not exist. Both devices, drag synchronized to the physical touch, and a developer whose other app (Rectangle) earned a lot of trust.
Against it: Roughly $8 with a 7-day trial, no swipes, and per-app rules have been an open request on its own tracker since 2024.
-
3
MiddleClick by this site's author
Free, GPL, and reaches back to macOS 10.13 — further than anything else here. For the two gestures it was written for, on a Mac too old for the rest of this list, nothing beats it.
Against it: Finished: no new features and no support. It is a known-good stopping point, not a live project.
-
4
MiddleTouch
The same trackpad gestures as Middle at a third of the price, and it reaches back to macOS 10.15 — four releases further than WheelClick goes.
Against it: Trackpad only, and there is no trial, so the first way to find out is to buy it. Being the App Store option is no longer an edge: WheelClick is there too, at the same $4.99, with the same sandbox cost to Magic Mouse support.
-
5
MiddleDrag
Free, MIT, and good at exactly two things: a three-finger tap for middle click and a three-finger drag. Readable and forkable, which none of the paid ones are.
Against it: macOS 15 and later, which rules out most Macs in use, and trackpads only.
-
6
Jitouch
Free, GPL, and broad: middle click on the trackpad and the Magic Mouse switched on by default, drawn-character gestures, and a gesture set per app.
Against it: No release since January 2023. Its users say it still runs on current macOS, but nobody is shipping fixes.
-
7
Multitouch
A real gesture engine where middle click is one binding among many. If your list of wishes is longer than this page, start here rather than with anything above.
Against it: $16 and a configuration session to get one gesture that the apps above ship switched on.
-
8
BetterTouchTool
The most capable software on this page by a distance, and the answer half the internet gives to any Mac customization question. It sits this low only because of the question being asked.
Against it: Buying the most configurable tool on the platform to get one mouse button is the long way round — and the setup is yours to do.
-
9
MagicPrefs
The gesture app a generation of Magic Mouse owners grew up with, maintained again after years dormant: swipes, multi-finger taps and recorded custom gestures, from the developer who wrote it in 2009.
Against it: macOS 15 and later, the highest price here (£26 for two years), and its rewritten pages do not say whether a gesture can still be a middle click.
Two of those nine are by the person who wrote this page, and one of them is first. That is worth distrusting on sight — so every claim behind the order is in the table below, cell by cell, with the competitors' own materials as the source. Read it and put them in a different order; the facts are the same either way.
Every attribute, side by side
| WheelClick | MiddleDrag | Middle | MiddleTouch | Multitouch | BetterTouchTool | MagicPrefs | Jitouch | MiddleClick | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $4.99 one-time Trackpad three-finger click & tap free forever | Free | $7.99 one-time US price, currently down from $9.99; Paddle localizes it elsewhere | $4.99 one-time | $15.99 one-time | $15 (2 years of updates) or $25 lifetime | £26 for 2 years, or £62 lifetime The 2-year license covers one Mac; lifetime adds a second | Free | Free |
| License | Closed source | MIT open source | Closed source | Closed source | Closed source | Closed source | Closed source The 2.4 code the rewrite replaced is Apache-2.0 on GitHub; the rewrite’s own is not published | GPL-3.0 open source | GPL-3.0 open source |
| Free trial | 14 days No account needed | Not needed — free | 7 days | No | 30 days | 45 days | 7 days | Not needed — free | Not needed — free |
| Free tier | Free tier Three-finger click and tap, permanently — no account, no countdown | Whole app The whole app is free and MIT-licensed | No Paid, after a 7-day trial | No Paid, and no trial either | No Paid, after a 30-day trial | No Paid, after a 45-day trial | No Paid, after a 7-day trial; it was free until the 2026 rewrite | Whole app The whole app is free and GPL-3.0 | Whole app The whole app is free and GPL-3.0 |
| macOS support | macOS 12 (Monterey) and later | macOS 15 (Sequoia) and later | macOS 10.15 (Catalina) and later | macOS 10.15 (Catalina) and later | macOS 10.15 (Catalina) and later | Not documented Its own materials state no minimum; the third-party Homebrew cask requires macOS 12 | macOS 15 (Sequoia) and later | macOS 10.13 (High Sierra) and later No official statement for macOS 14 or later; its users report it running up to macOS 27 | macOS 10.13 (High Sierra) and later |
| Input method | Public Accessibility API (CGEventTap) One exception: Magic Mouse touches, which no public API exposes. Those come from a separate unsandboxed helper, in the direct build only | Private MultitouchSupport framework | Not documented Not stated. It ships outside the App Store, and its Magic Mouse gestures need touch data no public API exposes | Not documented Not stated. Being an App Store build, it is sandboxed | Private frameworks, by its own account Its terms say it relies on APIs "private and otherwise"; a setting avoids them, at the cost of Magic Mouse support | Not documented Its internals are not documented | Not documented Its page says only “direct integration with the macOS touch framework” | Private multitouch framework | Private multitouch framework |
| Trackpad | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not documented The rewrite lists two-, three- and four-finger taps, but not whether one can be a middle click; before it, middle click was one of its bindings | Yes Three-finger tap, on by default | Yes |
| Magic Mouse | Yes Paid — touch gestures in the direct build; fn+click everywhere | No Trackpads only (built-in or Magic Trackpad) | Yes | No No touch gestures on it — but its own listing says fn+click works with any mouse | Yes | Yes | Not documented Supports the Magic Mouse, and 2.6.4 added a “One Finger Middle Axis Click” that it does not describe | Yes A “Middle Click” gesture, on by default | Yes Three-finger click/tap |
| Middle-click-drag | Yes Opt-in Middle-Drag plugin for CAD, plus a configurable modifier-key + click (paid) | Yes Three-finger drag | Yes Marketed for panning in CAD | Not documented | Middle Click and Pan A built-in action; needs a gesture that leaves a finger resting to drag with | Configurable Via custom gestures | Not documented | Not documented | No |
| Autoscroll | Yes System-wide, opt-in (paid) | In some apps Via apps’ own middle-click autoscroll, where an app implements it | Not documented | Not documented | Not documented | A basic auto-scroll action Added in 6.264, announced by its developer on the forum rather than in the release notes | Not documented Its scrolling settings were removed in the rewrite, with a return planned | Not documented | No |
| Swipe gestures | Yes Three-finger swipes (paid) | No Tap and drag only | No | No | Yes General gesture bindings | Yes Extensive gesture bindings | Yes Two-, three- and four-finger swipes, plus recorded custom gestures | Yes Many trackpad and mouse gestures, plus drawn characters | No |
| Per-app rules | Yes Per-app allow and ignore lists (paid) | Not documented | Not documented An open request on its own tracker since 2024 | Not documented | Yes App-specific gesture settings | Yes Per-app trigger overrides | No Removed in the 2026 rewrite, “to keep complexity down” | Yes A gesture set per app | Ignore list In the status menu |
| Where bugs go | Public issue tracker WheelClick-Community on GitHub | Public issue tracker GitHub issues on its own repository | Public issue tracker rxhanson/Middle-Community on GitHub | Public issue tracker rxhanson/Middle-Community on GitHub, which carries MiddleTouch issues too | Public issue tracker rxhanson/Multitouch-Community on GitHub | Community forum community.folivora.ai | Email Support tickets by email; no public tracker | Public issue tracker GitHub issues, 34 open | Public issue tracker GitHub issues on its own repository |
| Last release | 1.1.10, 17 October 2026 GitHub Releases | v1.4.3, 20 March 2026 GitHub Releases | 1.14, 20 December 2025 The date carried by the app inside the disk image its own site still serves. Support is live — its developer was answering the tracker this month. | 1.13, 11 June 2026 Its App Store listing | 1.48, 8 June 2026 The date carried by the app inside the disk image its own site serves | 6.745, 21 August 2026 Its own release notes; the download it serves changes more often still | 2.6.5, 23 February 2026 Its own changelog | 2.82.1, 2 January 2023 GitHub Releases | 3.2.0, 5 April 2026 GitHub Releases |
| Distribution | Mac App Store, direct download, Homebrew Magic Mouse gestures come with the direct download: the App Store sandbox hides the mouse’s touches from every app | Homebrew, MacPorts, GitHub Releases | Direct download | Mac App Store | Direct download | Direct download, Setapp | Direct download | Homebrew, GitHub Releases | Homebrew, GitHub Releases |
| Maintenance | Active Three releases in September 2026 | Active Its README says so; last commit April 2026 | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active Rewritten and relaunched in January 2026; six releases since | No release since January 2023 Its maintainer still answers issues now and then | Finished — no new features planned Its tracker stays open, and its author still answers there |
Cells marked “Not documented” mean the app’s own materials don’t state it either way — we would rather leave a blank than publish a guess about someone else’s app. Every cell here — ours and theirs — was re-verified against each vendor's own current materials on 31 August 2026, MagicPrefs, added since, on 4 October, and Jitouch on 9 October. If something has gone stale since, tell us and it gets fixed.
Three-finger click and tap on the trackpad are free forever — no trial needed for those.
One-on-one comparisons: vs MiddleDrag · vs Middle · vs MiddleTouch · vs Multitouch · vs BetterTouchTool · vs MagicPrefs · vs Jitouch · vs MiddleClick